Case StudiesCase Studies

Case Studies

Our references reflect the customer relationships which we have been developing and growing for years in both the public and private business sectors. The following case studies provide selected examples of the services which we provide.

  • LiNa eG

    Changes in our society's demographic structure have created a significant shortage of living spaces which are both affordable and equipped for the disabled or elderly. The cooperative housing project "LiNa – Leben in Nachbarschaft eG" aims to create living spaces which fulfil these criteria and are also ecological, technologically demanding and architecturally attractive. The project also meets all of the requirements necessary to be included in "100 Klimaschutzsiedlungen in Nordrhein-Westfalen", a program sponsored by the NRW Climate Protection Ministry to create ecologically friendly settlements in North Rhine-Westphalia.

    STF Energy's planning team supported LiNa e.V in all stages from planning and application through to actual implementation and usage. The builder receives benefits as part of state funded programmes when building climate friendly settlements as well funding from "" and "KfW40". Technical highlights include: thermal insulation standards equal to that of a passive house, controlled living space ventilation (decentralised), pellet heating as well as solar thermal and photovoltaic systems. Energieagentur.NRW GmbH, which represents North Rhine-Westphalia in matters concerning energy efficiency, renewable energies and climate protection, has approved, accepted and officially listed the building settlement in its project portfolio.

  • Sparkasse Lippstadt

    Project: Central Office Conversion / Renovation

    STF Energy is involved in planning and supporting Sparkasse Lippstadt in the renovation of its management offices. This includes expansion of conference rooms and renovation, during normal operations, of the electrical systems in the bank's central offices.

    Initial development of an energy concept involving measurement and analysis of actual energy consumption values and a building simulation was carried out in 2014 with detailed planning and implementation occurring directly thereafter. This included modernisation of the energy centre for cooling, heating and ventilation systems as well as installation of a new centralised control system for the building's systems.

    In the future, heating and cooling of the expanded areas shall be accomplished using gas-driven heat pumps utilising a direct evaporator principle.

  • Maschinenbau Lienenbrügger GmbH

    Project: Introduction of energy-management system

    Maschinenbau Lienenbrügger ( has been a contract manufacturer for high-quality engineering solutions for over 70 years. At this long-established company, STF Energy introduced an ISO 50001-certified energy management system while production was ongoing. The client‘s priority was to reduce operating costs. Based on extensive metrological inspections and an analysis of the potential tax savings, STF Energy developed an energy-measurement concept.

  • Härterei Reese Bochum GmbH

    Project: Introduction of an energy-management system

    As a player in the metal processing industry, Härterei Reese ( is a particularly energy-intensive company. STF Energy developed an ISO 50001-certified energy-management system for Reese to help it improve its energy efficiency and lower its energy costs. In order to develop appropriate cost saving measures, we had to create complete transparency in all areas of the company’s energy consumption and use. In view of the complex processing procedures, the analysis was particularly challenging. Thanks to the implemented efficiency measures, the company’s energy targets were met.

  • Stadtwerke Düsseldorf AG

    Project: Energy-efficiency analysis for a Stadtwerke client

    Stadtwerke Düsseldorf ( is the largest energy provider and energy-service provider in the Düsseldorf region. STF Energy conducted an energy-efficiency analysis for an important client on behalf of Stadtwerke Düsseldorf. The analysis involved an inspection of all relevant equipment and an evaluation in terms of energy consumption. This allowed us to give the client a greater insight into its energy usage.

  • Rhein-Ruhr-Malz GmbH

    Project: Introduction of an energy-management system

    Rhein-Ruhr-Malz GmbH ( contracted STF Energy to implement an energy-management system in order to significantly reduce its energy costs for several locations. We conducted comprehensive measurements and drew up an action plan. The consumption analysis of the malting plant proved particularly challenging. The objective was to make the drying process as transparent as possible in terms of energy consumption and usage. Our STF experts successfully implemented an ISO 50001-certified energy-management system, and the subsequent exemption from the EEG levy was particularly appreciated by the client.  

  • Pietsch Bochum GmbH & Co. KG

    Project: Specialist planning of technical building equipment for new facility at Elspermann Großhandels GmbH & Co. KG

    The Pietsch Group ( is one of Germany’s leading wholesalers in sanitary, heating and air-conditioning technology with over 50 locations nationwide. STF Energy assisted Elspermann Großhandels GmbH & Co. KG, a Pietsch Group subsidiary, with taking advantage of the full energy savings potential at its new building in Bochum. STF carried out the specialist planning for the heating, plumbing, ventilation and air conditioning. With the development of a comprehensive energy concept including an air source heat pump (Monovalent), the project was successfully completed with an EU GreenBuilding-programme certification.

  • Fressnapf Tiernahrungs GmbH

    Project: Specialist planning of technical building equipment for construction of the “Fressnapf-Akademie” building

    STF Energy assisted Fressnapf, Europe’s largest retail chain for animal food, with its new “Fressnapf-Akademie” building. During planning, STF experts were instructed to take the heating, plumbing, ventilation and air conditioning into account as extensively as possible. STF Energy drew up a comprehensive energy concept taking into account the statutory requirements. Gas-fired heat pumps for heating and cooling to ensure controlled temperature and thermostatically controlled air inlets were integrated into the building. With the help of STF Energy, Fressnapf now boasts a new, modern and energy-efficient Fressnapf academy.


    Project: Development, calculation and implementation of a heating facility for the historical Surenburg castle of in Riesenbeck

    On behalf of KERKHOFF, STF Energy provided the concept, cost calculation and implementation for a heating system at Surenburg castle in Riesenbeck. The objective was to achieve the client’s energy-efficiency requirements while taking into account the high security standards as well as the specifications for historic landmarks. In addition, the STF planners had to consider the different energy users, such as the castle, the hotel and the swimming pool. With the help of STF Energy, the castle was successfully equipped with a highly energy-efficient and flexible heating system.

  • VIVAWEST Wohnen GmbH

    Project: New “Exerzierhalle”: New residential construction with 69 housing units with integrated underground garage for 169 parking spaces

    VIVAWEST ( is Germany’s third-largest housing provider with 120,000 residential units. For the construction of 69 new units with an integrated underground garage, STF Energy is assigned with the technical building equipment planning. STF specialists are developing concepts for the heating, ventilation, plumbing and electrical system. The building project is currently underway.

  • Stroetmann Grundbesitz-Verwaltung GmbH & Co. KG

    Project: Expert Planning

    STF Energy is planning the technical building services (heating, ventilation, plumbing and electric) in a shopping centre being built in Muenster by Stroetmann Grundbesitz-Verwaltung GmbH & Co. KG. The new building includes residential and office spaces as well as diverse shopping facilities. STF Energy is also developing a concept for the ventilation and exhaust extraction systems for the building's underground parking garage. In order to ensure compliance with energy saving regulations (EnEV), the apartments are equipped with highly efficient ventilation units including heat-recovery systems.

    Projekt: New administration building for L. Stroetmann GmbH & Co. KG

    For L. Stroetmann GmbH & Co. KG’s new administration building, STF Energy was responsible for the technical building equipment planning, which included the heating, ventilation, plumbing and electrical systems. STF developed a concept that involved the use of near-surface geothermal power for heating and cooling. The building project was successfully completed in December 2013.

  • Stadtwerke Krefeld AG

    Project: Rough energy analysis to achieve reduction in energy consumption

    STF Energy conducted a rough energy-related analysis of Stadtwerke Krefeld’s technical building equipment. Based on the analysis, STF Energy was able to develop technically optimised solutions in electrical technology, building automation, heating, ventilation, air conditioning, heat recovery, sanitary technology, lighting, emergency energy supply and building physics.

    In the proposal, the investment costs and necessary measures were clearly outlined. Moreover, the STF experts issued the client with a thermal insulation certificate according to DIN 18599.

  • Draht Müller GmbH & Co. KG

    Project: Systematic Optimization

    Draht Müller GmbH & Co. KG is a mid-sized, owner operated company which has been producing woven mesh and welded wire screens for 75 years. STF Energy carried out a systematic optimisation for Draht Müller GmbH & Co. KG. This systematic optimisation covered targeted energy efficiency measures: the replacement of HQL mercury lamps and lighting with daylight controlled, presence dependent LED bay lighting and circulator pumps with speed controlled, high efficiency pumps led to significant savings for the company.

  • Jöst GmbH

    Project: Energy Audit

    STF Energy conducted a DIN EN 16247-1 conform energy audit for Jöst GmbH and, in doing so, identified considerable savings potential in the company's paint shop as well as lighting and pressurised air distribution systems. Jöst GmbH is a leading international company in vibration control technologies. The production of high quality machines and systems for the preparation of bulk goods is complex as well as energy intensive. The energy audit conducted identified energy efficiency measures and provided management with a detailed overview of the company's energy consumption.

Case StudiesCase Studies

Case Studies

Unsere Referenzen sind Ausdruck von Kundenbeziehungen aus dem öffentlichen und privatwirtschaftlichen Bereich, die wir seit vielen Jahren pflegen und ausbauen. In den Case Studies stellen wir Ihnen einige ausgewählte Projekte vor, die beispielhaft für unsere Leistungen stehen.

  • LiNa eG

    Durch den demografischen Wandel der Gesellschaft besteht ein erheblicher Mangel an barrierefreiem, altersgerechtem und bezahlbarem Wohnraum. Das genossenschaftliche Wohnprojekt „LiNa – Leben in Nachbarschaft eG“ hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Wohnraum, der diese Voraussetzungen erfüllt, zu schaffen und gleichzeitig höchste architektonische, ökologische und technische Ansprüche zu erfüllen. Das Projekt erfüllt weiterhin alle Merkmale, die zur Aufnahme in das staatliche Förderprogramm des NRW-Klimaschutzministeriums führen („100 Klimaschutzsiedlungen in Nordrhein-Westfalen“).

    Das Planungsteam der STF Energy unterstützte hierbei die genossenschaftliche Vereinigung LiNa e.V. von der Planung und Antragsstellung bis hin zur Fertigstellung und Nutzung. Der Bauherr erhält Vergünstigungen im Förderprogramm für Maßnahmen zur Errichtung einer Klimaschutzsiedlung und damit Mittel aus „progres.nrw" sowie „KfW40“. Die technischen Highlights des Projekts: Der geforderte Wärmedämmstandard entspricht dem eines Passivhauses, kontrollierte Wohnraumlüftung (dezentral), Pelletheizung, Solarthermie und Fotovoltaik. Die Energieagentur.NRW GmbH, die im Auftrag des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen zu allen Fragen aus dem Themenkreis Energieeffizienz, erneuerbare Energie und Klimaschutz agiert, hat das Bauvorhaben in ihr Portfolio aufgenommen und offiziell gelistet.

    Mehr Informationen finden Sie hier (Standorte – Haltern am See).

  • Sparkasse Lippstadt

    Projekt: Umbau / Sanierung der Hauptstelle

    Für die Sparkasse Lippstadt plant und begleitet die STF Energy den Anbau des Vorstandsbereiches inklusive Veranstaltungsräumen und die energetische Sanierung der Hauptstelle im laufenden Betrieb.

    Nachdem zunächst für beide Bereiche im Jahr 2014 ein energetisches Konzept erstellt wurde, dessen Grundlage die tatsächlich gemessenen Verbrauchswerte und eine Gebäudesimulation waren, erfolgte im direkten Anschluss die Umsetzung des Konzepts durch die Fachplanung. Dabei werden die Energiezentralen Heizung, Lüftung und Kälte saniert und durch eine neue Gebäudeleittechnik ergänzt.

    Die Beheizung- und Kühlung des Anbaus soll zukünftig mittels Gaswärmepumpen im Direktverdampferprinzip realisiert werden.

  • Maschinenbau Lienenbrügger GmbH

    Projekt: Einführung Energiemanagementsystem

    Maschinenbau Lienenbrügger (lidu.de) ist seit über 70 Jahren Lohnfertiger für qualitativ hochwertige Maschinenbaulösungen. Für das Traditionsunternehmen hat STF Energy bei fortlaufender Produktion ein nach ISO 50001 zertifiziertes Energiemanagementsystem eingeführt. Der Fokus des Kunden lag hierbei vor allem auf der Senkung der Betriebskosten. Auf Grundlage umfangreicher messtechnischer Untersuchungen und einer Analyse der steuerlichen Einsparpotentiale hat STF Energy ein Konzept für ein Energiemesssystem entwickelt.

  • Härterei Reese Bochum GmbH

    Projekt: Einführung Energiemanagementsystem

    Als Teil des metallverarbeitenden Gewerbes handelt es sich bei der Härterei Reese (haerterei.com) um ein besonders energieintensives Unternehmen. STF Energy hat für Reese ein nach ISO 50001 zertifiziertes Energiemanagementsystem entwickelt, um das Unternehmen in puncto Energieeffizienz besser aufzustellen und die Energiekosten zu senken. Um geeignete Einsparmaßnahmen zu erarbeiten, musste zunächst eine vollständige Transparenz bei allen Energieverbräuchen und -einsätzen des Kunden geschaffen werden. Aufgrund der komplexen Verarbeitungsprozesse war diese Analyse eine besondere. Dank der eingeführten Effizienzmaßnahmen konnte die zu Projektbeginn gesetzten Energieziele erfolgreich umgesetzt werden.

  • Stadtwerke Düsseldorf AG

    Projekt: Energieeffizienzanalyse für einen Kunden der Stadtwerke

    Die Stadtwerke Düsseldorf (swd-ag.de) sind der große Energieversorger und -dienstleister in Düsseldorf und der Region. Für einen wichtigen Kunden hat STF Energy im Auftrag der Stadtwerke eine Energieeffizienzanalyse durchgeführt. Im Rahmen dieser Analyse wurden alle relevanten Anlagen betrachtet und hinsichtlich Ihres Energieeinsatzes bewertet. So ist es gelungen, dem Kunden größtmögliche Transparenz und Übersicht bei seinen Energieeinsätzen zu verschaffen.

  • Rhein-Ruhr-Malz GmbH

    Projekt: Einführung Energiemanagementsystem

    Die Rhein-Ruhr-Malz GmbH (schillmalz.com) hat STF Energy mit der Einführung eines Energiemanagementsystems beauftragt, um so den Energieaufwand für mehrere Standorte deutlich zu senken. Auf Grundlage dieser Zielsetzung wurden umfangreiche Messungen durchgeführt und ein Maßnahmenplan konzipiert. Eine besondere Herausforderung stellte die Verbrauchsanalyse im Mälzereibetrieb dar. So galt es, im Trocknungsprozess eine größtmögliche Transparenz der Energieverbräuche und -einsätze zu schaffen. Die Experten von STF konnten erfolgreich ein nach ISO 50001 zertifiziertes Energiemanagementsystem einführen.  Für den Kunden besonders vorteilhaft war die erreichte Befreiung von der EEG-Umlage.

  • Pietsch Bochum GmbH & Co. KG

    Projekt: Fachplanung der technischen Gebäudeausrüstung beim Betriebsneubau Elspermann Großhandels GmbH & Co. KG

    Die Pietsch-Gruppe (www.pietsch.de) ist mit über 50 Standorten einer der führenden deutschen Großhändler für Sanitär-, Heizungs- und Klimatechnik. Im Rahmen des Betriebsneubaus in Bochum hat STF Energy die Elspermann Großhandels GmbH & Co. KG, eine Tochtergesellschaft der Pietsch-Gruppe, dabei unterstützt, Energieeffizienzpotenziale möglichst gut zu nutzen. Die Experten von STF haben für das Unternehmen die Fachplanung der Gewerke Heizung, Sanitär, Lüftung und Klimatechnik übernommen. Unter anderem durch die Erstellung eines umfangreichen Energiekonzeptes inklusive Luft-Wärme-Wärmepumpe (Monovalent) konnte das Projekt erfolgreich abgeschlossen und die Zertifizierung nach dem EU-GreenBuilding-Programm erreicht werden. Dessen Ziel ist die Erhöhung der Energieeffizienz privater und öffentlicher Dienstleistungsgebäude.

  • Fressnapf Tiernahrungs GmbH

    Projekt: Fachplanung der technischen Gebäudeausrüstung für den Neubau der Fressnapf-Akademie

    STF Energy stand Fressnapf, Europas größte Fachhandelskette für Tiernahrung, beim Neubau der Fressnapf-Akademie zur Seite. Die STF-Experten sollten bei der Fachplanung der technischen Gebäudeausrüstung Effizienzpotenziale in den Bereichen Heizung, Sanitär, Lüftung und Klimatechnik möglichst umfangreich berücksichtigen. Hierzu wurde unter Beachtung der gesetzlichen Vorgaben zunächst ein umfassendes Energiekonzept erstellt. Im Neubau wurden Gas-Wärme-Pumpen zur Kühlung und Beheizung für eine gleitende Temperatur sowie die thermostatisch gesteuerten Lufteinlässe integriert. Mit Hilfe von STF Energy ist es gelungen, den neuen Sitz der Fressnapf-Akademie zu einem modernen und energieeffizienten Gebäude zu machen.

  • KERKHOFF GmbH

    Projekt: Entwicklung, Berechnung und Umsetzung einer Heizzentrale für die historische Schlossanlage Surenburg in Riesenbeck

    STF Energy hat für den Gebäudeausrüster KERKHOFF die Konzeptionierung, Berechnung und Umsetzung einer Heizzentrale für die Schlossanlage Surenburg in Riesenbeck übernommen. Es galt, die klaren Energieeffizienzziele des Kunden unter Berücksichtigung sowohl der hohen Anforderungen an die Betriebssicherheit als auch der Denkmalschutzauflagen umzusetzen. Außerdem mussten die Planer von STF die verschiedenen Nutzer wie Schloss, Hotel und Schwimmbad in der Planung bedenken. Die Schlossanlage konnte mit Hilfe von STF Energy erfolgreich mit einer maximal energieeffizienten und zugleich flexiblen Heizanlage ausgestattet werden.

  • VIVAWEST Wohnen GmbH

    Projekt: Neubau Exerzierhalle: Neubau 69 Wohneinheiten mit integrierter Tiefgarage für 169 Stellplätze

    VIVAWEST (www.vivawest.de) ist mit 120.000 Wohnungen der drittgrößte Wohnungsanbieter in Deutschland. Für das Unternehmen übernimmt STF Energy beim Neubau von 69 Wohneinheiten mit integrierter Tiefgarage die Fachplanung der technischen Gebäudeausrüstung. Für dieses Projekt entwickeln die Spezialisten von STF Konzepte in den Bereichen Heizung, Lüftung, Sanitär und Elektrotechnik. Das Bauvorhaben wird zurzeit umgesetzt.

  • Stroetmann Grundbesitz-Verwaltung GmbH & Co. KG

    Projekt: Neubau Einkaufszentrum in Münster

    Für den Neubau eines Einkaufszentrums in Münster plant die STF Energy die technische Gebäudeausrüstung (Gewerke Heizung, Lüftung, Sanitär und Elektro) für die Firma Stroetmann Grundbesitz-Verwaltung GmbH & Co. KG. Der Neubau umfasst ein Einkaufscenter, Wohneinheiten, diverse Ladeneinheiten und Büros. Für die Tiefgarage des Gebäudekomplexes entwickelt die STF Energy zudem ein Konzept für die Lüftungs- sowie Entrauchungsanlage. Um den Vorgaben der EnEV gerecht zu werden, sind die Wohnungen mit hocheffizienten Lüftungen inklusive Wärmerückgewinnungssystem ausgestattet.

    Projekt: Neubau Verwaltung L. Stroetmann GmbH & Co. KG

    Beim Neubau der Verwaltung der L. Stroetmann GmbH & Co. KG hat STF Energy die Fachplanung der technischen Gebäudeausrüstung in den Bereichen Heizung, Lüftung, Sanitär und Elektrotechnik übernommen. Für den Kunden erarbeitet STF ein Konzept, das die Nutzung oberflächennaher Geothermie und eine Sole-Wasser-Wärmepumpenanlage zum Heizen und Kühlen beinhaltete. Das Bauprojekt wurde im Dezember 2013 erfolgreich abgeschlossen.

  • Stadtwerke Krefeld AG

    Projekt: Energetische Grobanalyse zur Erzielung von Energieverbrauchsreduzierung

    Für die Stadtwerke Krefeld hat STF Energy eine energetische Grobanalyse der technischen Gebäudeausrüstung durchgeführt. Auf Basis dieser Analyse konnten technisch optimierte Lösungsvorschläge in den Bereichen Elektrotechnik, Gebäudeautomatisierung, Heizung, Lüftung, Klimatisierung, Wärmerückgewinnung, Sanitärtechnik, Beleuchtung, Notstromversorgung sowie Bauphysik erarbeitet werden:

    In den Vorschlägen wurden die Einsparpotenziale und die nötigen Investitionskosten klar ausgewiesen sowie konkrete Maßnahmen zur Umsetzung benannt. Außerdem erstellten die Experten von STF einen Wärmeschutznachweis nach DIN 18599 für den Kunden.

  • Draht Müller GmbH & Co. KG

    Projekt: Systemische Optimierung

    Die Draht Müller GmbH & Co. KG ist ein mittelständisches, inhabergeführtes Unternehmen und seit 75 Jahren erfolgreich in der Produktion von Punktschweißgittern und Wellengittern. Für die Draht Müller GmbH & Co. KG hat die STF Energy eine systemische Optimierung durchgeführt. Die systemische Optimierung deckte gezielt Energieeffizienzmaßnahmen auf: Durch das Ersetzen von HQL Quecksilberdampflampen und Lichtbändern durch tageslichtgesteuerte und präsenzabhängige LED-Hallenleuchten sowie Umwälzpumpen durch drehzahlgeregelte Hocheffizienzpumpen konnten signifikante Einsparungen erzielt werden.

  • Jöst GmbH

    Projekt: Energieaudit

    Für die Jöst GmbH hat die STF Energy ein Energieaudit gemäß DIN EN 16247-1 durchgeführt und dadurch deutliche Einsparpotenziale im Unternehmen in den Bereichen Lichttechnik, Lackiererei und Druckluftverteilung aufgedeckt. Die Jöst GmbH ist auf dem Gebiet der Schwingungstechnik ein international führendes Unternehmen. Die Produktion von hochwertigen Maschinen und Anlagen zur Aufbereitung von Schüttgütern ist komplex und zugleich energieintensiv. Durch das Energieaudit wurden gezielt Effizienzmaßnahmen ermittelt und den Verantwortlichen ein detaillierter Überblick über den Energieverbrauch gegeben.